Beverly Hills DUI Defense Lawyer
The consequences of a DUI conviction in California are wide-ranging and far-reaching. The legal consequences include fines, the suspension of your driver’s license, and jail. Far-reaching consequences include an increase in your insurance rates, the loss of your job if your employer refuses to allow you to take leave to serve a jail sentence, and a permanent record. While judges have discretion in sentencing those convicted of DUI, even a first-time DUI conviction can create substantial complications in a person’s life. At the Law Office of Jonathan Franklin, we review the actions of arresting officers in order to determine if there are grounds for asking that your DUI charged be dismissed. We also evaluate the reliability of any breathalyzer, blood, or urine test used to measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) to determine if their results should be excluded at trial.
Located in the heart of Beverly Hills,
our office provides a comfortable, relaxing environment for clients to discuss their legal matters in a confidential setting. Easily accessible, convenient complimentary parking is provided next door to our office.
If you’ve been arrested on a charge of drunk driving, contact Beverly Hills, California, DUI defense attorney Jonathan Franklin today to schedule a free consultation.
California DUI Penalties for First Time Offenders
In the state of California, judges have some discretion in regard to sentencing, though DUI penalties are relatively fixed. In general, the following represents an overview of possible DUI penalties:
California DUI Penalties for Repeat and Felony DUI Offenders
- First time DUI: fines between $390 and $1,000; a possible jail sentence up to 48 hours; driver’s license suspension of up to 4 months; if under the age of 21, your license will be suspended for a year; 3 to 6 months in DUI school; the court may order the installation of an ignition interlock device; community service may be required if a plea bargain is offered.
In California, each county may have its own fines and penalty structure related to repeat DUI offenders. However, in general, the following DUI penalties apply:
- Second DUI within 10 years of first DUI conviction: fines between $390 and $1,000; a minimum of 96 hours to a 1 year maximum in jail; a 2 year suspension of your driver’s license; eligibility for restricted license after 1 year; 18 months of DUI school; 3 to 5 years of probation.
- Third DUI within 10 years of first DUI conviction: a fine between $390 and $1,000; a 120 days to a year in jail; a 3 year revocation of your driver’s license; eligibility for a restricted license after 18 months; 30 months in DUI school; 3 to 5 years of probation; installation of an ignition interlock device.
- Fourth DUI within 10 years of first DUI conviction: In California, a fourth DUI conviction is considered a felony. If convicted, you will permanently lose your license and will be sentenced to a mandatory 3 year prison term.
DUI Penalty Enhancements in the State of California
Additional penalties apply in cases where a minor under the age of 14 was in your car at the time of your DUI arrest, if your BAC is .15% or higher, if you were speeding, caused an accident, or refused to submit to a breathalyzer. Additionally, if you own a commercial license as a truck driver, delivery van driver, or taxi cab driver, other penalties apply as well. We can review the specifics of your case and driving record and determine the best approach for reducing the charges or sentence against you.
To schedule a free consultation and learn how we can help you, contact Beverly Hills, California, DUI defense attorney Jonathan Franklin today.